Difference between revisions of "Classes"

From EUO Manual
Jump to: navigation, search
Line 55: Line 55:
For more detailed information, see:  [[Class Skills]].
For more detailed information, see:  [[Class Skills]].
==Developing Your Class==
It is generally agreed upon that you are better off simply maximising all the [[Class Skills]] in just one class.

Revision as of 22:13, 26 October 2018


In EUO there are 6 basic classes: the Fighter, the Mage, the Priest, the Monk, the Necromancer and the Rogue. However, unlike most RPG's, you are not tied to a class when you create your character. Instead, the class(es) a character belongs to are based upon the skills that are developed over time.

Guides to building your character can be found on the forums: http://forums.swut.net/viewforum.php?f=18

The Fighter

The fighter is a master of melee combat, utilising weapons such as axes, halberds, maces and swords to defeat enemies.

The Mage

The mage is a purveyor of magic.

The Monk

The monk is an unarmed fighter that also uses the sanctity school of magic to battle his foes.

Link to the monks thread on the forums: http://forums.swut.net/viewtopic.php?f=12&t=4082

The Priest

The priest is a fighter/mage hybrid that specialises in holy magic while bludgeoning enemies to death with blessed maces.

The Rogue

The rogue uses smaller melee weapons such as daggers, foils, and shortswords, as well as ranged weapons, and wears lighter armour when adventuring. Rogues also possess skills in security and stealth.

The Necromancer

The necromancer simultaneously casts dark necromantic magic while slashing his or her foes to pieces with a ritualised blade.

Please consult the forums about them: http://forums.swut.net/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=5179

How Your Class is Represented

In the player stats box, you will see a number of lines like this:

Fighter: x%
Rogue: y%
Mage: z%

The x% / y% / z% represents the percentage of each class you currently are. The total combined class % points (what as known as the class cap) is capped at 125% for humans and 100% for non-humans. For example, a human character with a class cap of 125% could be 80% fighter, 20% rogue and 25% mage - or any combination thereof.

All races can use Shrine of Versatility to raise their class cap to 200%. Leveling at the Shrine of Versatility increases your class cap by 2.5% per level.

How Classes Relate to Skills

1. Class specific skills belong under one of the following categories: Fighter, Mage, Priest, Monk, Rogue or Necromancer
2. The highest skill from a class category determines the class %
3. The maximum total combined class % points is 150% for humans, and 125% for non-humans.

For example, if you have stealth at 20%, magery at 50% and longswords at 30%, then you will be 20% Rogue, 50% mage and 30% Fighter.

The Skills belonging to each class category are as follows:

  • Fighter skills: Axes, Blocking, Longswords, Maces, Polearms, Tactics
  • Rogue skills: Foils, Locks, Ranged, Shortswords, Security (merged Stealth + Traps)
  • Mage skills: Magery, Sorcery, Staves
  • Priest skills: Blessed maces, Divinity, Piety
  • Monk skills: Unarmed combat, Sanctity
  • Necromancer skills: Necromancy, Hexblades, Bonecrafting

For more detailed information, see: Class Skills.